Geany is a lightweight and convenient editor that is relatively friendly to beginners in Linux environments.
Like Dev-C++, it can compile and run a single file.
However, it can run on Linux/Windows/macOS.
Its official website is: https://geany.org/
Advantages and disadvantages
Advantages
- Lightweight;
- Can compile and run a single file;
- Does not require much configuration;
- Cross-platform.
Disadvantages
- Not many people use it;
- It has some permission issues under macOS Catalina1;
- When creating a new file, syntax highlighting is not enabled by default, so you need to switch the file type manually.
Installation
See Download | Geany
Usage tips
Switching the file type
Switch it in Document -> Set Filetype.
For example, for the C++ language, click Document -> Set Filetype -> Programming Languages -> C++ source file to see that the file has been converted to C++ syntax highlighting.
Setting file templates
Create a templates/files folder under the configuration directory, and create files in it as template files. After reopening Geany, you can find them under File -> New (with Template).
The configuration directory can be found from the second and third lines of Help -> Debug Messages.
Here are the default template configuration directories for macOS and Linux:
- System directory:
/usr/share/geany/templates/files/ - User directory:
~/.config/geany/templates/files/2
Frequently asked questions
Compatibility with Deepin Terminal
In Preferences -> Tools -> Virtual Terminal, change the terminal command to:
deepin-terminal -x "/bin/sh" %c
Click the "Apply" button.3
References and notes
Footnotes
-
Source: Deepin Wiki https://wiki.deepin.org/ ↩